August 21, 2012

  • Dangerous Fun

    We are on the second leg of the exodus. Micah and I have been in Jonesboro since Saturday, visiting his dad. Today was kind of rough, as we got lost on the way back from a gaming session Micah’s stepsisterinvited us to. The gaming session itself was fun. Micah and I played a Native American healer and warewolf in a prohibition era fantasy game, set in Chicago. Our part of the game was that we were searching for our sister, who had just become a vampire. Micah’s character almost beat the shit out of the other characters, until one of them got the idea to repeatedly hit his character with a car. As fun as that was, it didn’t cover for how scary getting lost was later. We kept almost hitting redneck country, in our jeep that held all of our worldly possessions. Needless to say, we got in really really really late.

    Micah’s father kept looming over us while we were jobhunting online. It was frustrating, and Micah had to try with all his willpower not to get into a fight with us. The man was making useless suggestions, as if neither one of us had ever been to a job interview. It felt like he saw us like rebellious teenagers going on our first roadtrip. Ugh.

    Micah’s stepmom was a lot more helpful, though. She suggested that if we needed a cheap place to stay, we could always camp out. Then she gave us a tent out of the shed. Just like that. It was small enough that it actually fit into the jeep, even though we thought the entire vehicle had been stuffed full. That part felt like the moment when you’re in a video game, and a random villager you talk to hands you this old trashcan lid they found, and suddenly “Player 1 Recieved a Shield!”

    Last night I discovered I had a break-out of poison ivy from our outing at the park. It just keeps getting worse. I think what happened was the oil got on my socks and the bottom of my pants, and then I took a nap on the bed in the same pants and socks and my skin kept reabsorbing the oils. So, now that we’re in Kentucky, it should be better. Have I mentioned yet that Kentucky is absolutely fucking beautiful? I definitely feel that the exodus is going well so far.

    Also, now I’m a redhead. The color seems to suit me so well, with my pale pink skin and fiery attitude, that it makes me wonder why I wasn’t born this way.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *