April 4, 2013

  • Open-Winged Skyhawk

    Favorite quote of the day, from Stephen Colbert: “And, most importantly, DO NOT USE GLITTER. Okay, that is good thinking, because glitter can be a real mess. You spill that stuff, it’s impossible to clean up. Total. Disaster. And God forbid that it get on any wildlife. There is no sadder sight than a glitter-soaked pelican. I myself had and accident at a craft fair in 1998 and I still have a bad case of the disco lung”.

    Something I should file under the “introspective realizations” category: I don’t make friends. No, I really don’t. I don’t make casual acquaintances, or people to hang out with. My guardian angel instincts dictate that the people that come into my sphere of influence embark on a full-fledged emotional relationship with me. That makes me wonder: what the hell is it about me that keeps me invisible socially, but causes the people who are closest to me to fall in love? I’ve been struggling with the fact that I’m invisible for most of my adulthood, but now that I know some of the story with that phenomenon, I still just don’t get it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *